Healthy Mothers Healthy Babies Become a member

Join our ‘Coffee and Chai Chats’ with Global Experts

27 September 2021 – A series of ‘Coffee and Chai Chats’ on maternal nutrition and multiple micronutrient supplementation (MMS) are being organized by the Healthy Mothers Healthy Babies (HMHB) Consortium throughout October and November. These short 30-minute webinars will provide a golden opportunity to engage deeply with global experts and ask questions on specific topics related to maternal nutrition and MMS.

REGISTER here

Topics & Speakers

Leading up to the Nutrition for Growth Summit in December in this Nutrition Year of Action, these chats will help highlight the importance of maternal nutrition, and more specifically the role of MMS in improving maternal and newborn health. An impressive line of speakers, which includes Dr. Zulfiqar Bhutta, this year’s winner of the Roux Prize, will cover a diverse range of topics from scientific evidence on MMS to country experiences. The chats will begin with a 10-minute presentation by the speaker, followed by a question-answer session and discussion.

The schedule for the chats along with speakers and topics is as follows:

Coffee and Chai Chat Series Schedule

 

5 October 2021 | 10 AM EDT | 4 PM CET | 7:30 PM IST

Speaker: Ms. Kalpana Beesabathuni, Global Lead- Technology and Entrepreneurship, Sight and Life

Topic: Supply readiness assessment tool for MMS  

 

 

19 October 2021 |  8:30 AM EDT | 2:30 PM CET | 6:00 PM IST

Speaker: Dr. Zulfiqar A. Bhutta, Robert Harding Inaugural Chair, Global Child Health, Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto & Founding Director, Center of Excellence, Women and Child Health, Aga Khan University

Topic: Evidence for transitioning from IFA to MMS

   

 

21 October 2021 | 8 AM EDT | 2 PM CET | 5:30 PM IST

Speaker: Dr. Hema Divakar, Consultant and Medical Director, Divakars Speciality Hospital, Bengaluru, India

 

 

Speaker: Dr. Saskia Osendarp, Executive Director, Micronutrient Forum

 

Topic: The Role of Nutrition in Maternal Health

 

 

 

27 October 2021 | 9 AM EDT | 3 PM CET | 6:30 PM IST

Speaker: Dr. Mulamba Diese, DRC Program Manager, Vitamin Angels

Topic: MMS experience in the Democratic Republic of The Congo

 

4 November 2021 | 9 AM EDT | 3 PM CET | 6:30 PM IST

Speaker: Dr. Megan Bourassa, Director, Nutrition Science at The New York Academy of Sciences

Topic: Evidence on adherence to micronutrient supplementation

 

10 November 2021 | 10 AM EDT | 4 PM CET | 7:30 PM IST

Speaker: Dr. Kristen M. Hurley
Senior Vice President for Nutrition
Vitamin Angels

Topic: Implementation Research on MMS

 

18 November 2021 | 8 AM EDT | 2 PM CET | 5:30 PM IST

Speaker: Md. Toslim Uddin Khan, Deputy Managing Director, Social Marketing Company, Bangladesh

Topic: MMS experience in Bangladesh

 

 

Sign up for the Chats & Share With Others

The Coffee and Chai Chats are open to the public. The registration link is here and participants can attend the sessions of their choice. These chats will be recorded and the recordings will be available for viewing on the Knowledge Hub. For questions, please email [email protected].

For further dissemination, please download the  Coffee Chai Chats Invite.

Download social media graphics here to promote the Chats on Twitter, LinkedIn, Facebook, and Instagram.